Warhammer Online Goes Live!

Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning went live at least for people who preordered the Collector’s Edition.  I was one of those lucky people, so I was there.  Servers went live at about 11:00 am central time, and I managed to get started at about 11:30.  I got everything patched up, made my characters on my guild’s chosen server (Phoenix Throne), and then proceeded to sit in a queue for about an hour.  Luckily this gave me some time to make lunch and put my son down for a nap.

Things went pretty smoothly overall.  There were some problems, though, like the game kicking me to the character selection screen only moments after I finally got through the login queue for the first time, which meant I had to sit in that queue a second time before I could play.  They raised the population cap about halfway through my time in the queue and I got in early then I expected.  After that it was all smooth sailing.

I join up with my friends, ran some public quests, played a few scenarios, and helped to form the guild.  A little later after a scenario ended, they were kicked to desktop, while I managed to stay in the game.  We decided to stay away from scenarios for a bit in case the same thing happened again.  So we ran more PQs, and I managed to roll pretty terribly for the end loot in most cases.  Placing in the top 5 for contribution and then rolling sub-100 rolls doesn’t lead to many wins 😛

All in all it was a great time.  The servers were stable and there was almost zero lag.  Things ran great.  I’m loving the fact that I can actually play a character that won’t disappear in the next few days.

Hats off to Mythic for a great launch.  Keep it up!

Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

