Painting: Serpent Lines

First a short history…

The first Wave Serpent I painted turned out pretty well, but then when I started painting my second one, I decided to try something a little bit different and really highlight the recessed lines running across the body.  I did this with a very light blue, and it turned out great.  The only problem was that now my first Serpent didn’t look nearly as good in comparison.  So tonight I decided to work on fixing that and painted all the lines.  It took me a little longer than anticipated, but I was also slightly distracted by watching Heroes and Castle.  Here are the before and after pictures.

Before:
dsc04435-1024
As you can see, it just seems to be lacking something.  It’s just a little to monochrome.

After:
dsc04438-1024

With the highlighting the lines are much more defined and it really makes the effect pop.  Sure it now takes a bit longer to finish a tank, but the effect is definitely worth it.

Now I just need to go back and do the same for my War Walkers.

4 Responses to “Painting: Serpent Lines”


  1. 1 The 25mm Warrior March 25, 2009 at 7:14 am

    Wow what a difference! Those highlights look great… awesome work!

  2. 2 Kitsunex March 31, 2009 at 6:00 am

    that looks awesome! when i get a grav tank i’m gonna have to ask you how you did that.

    • 3 Rkik March 31, 2009 at 3:08 pm

      Basically just use a light blue, light Arctic Blue, a small brush (I used a 000) and a very steady hand. Practice also helps. The first one I did is a little less clean, but I’ve been getting better as I go along.


  1. 1 March 2nd is Old Stuff Day! « Meandering the Dune Sea Trackback on March 2, 2011 at 12:06 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

