Farseer with Painted Base

DSC05281-1024

I painted up the flying base for my Farseer tonight.  I have never done a flying base before, and I really like the way it turned out.  I think I’ll have to do the same for the rest of my jetbikes at some point.

If you look, you can see there are two holes that aren’t textured.  These are magnets, and the center stand is magnetized such that it can be moved out of the center and onto the back magnet.  Then I have a Space Marine that I’m working on that will stand at the front of the base.  The whole thing will look like a duel between the two with the Farseer about to run the Marine down.  The only problem was that it was a bit too big to use for normal games, hence the interchangeability.

2 Responses to “Farseer with Painted Base”


  1. 1 John "Flekkzo" Gustafsson August 4, 2009 at 5:43 am

    How strong are those magnets? Do you magnetize both ends of the, ehm, stick? And how did you make that very nifty base? Looks awesome!

    Don’t forget to show us the whole thing with a marine in there as well 🙂 What chapter will the marine be?

    • 2 Rkik August 4, 2009 at 8:02 am

      The magnets are very strong. I think they have a 1 pound hold force. They are the 1/4 inch by 1/16 inch round rare earth magnets. I did magnetize both ends of the stick, plus the hole in the center is recessed into the base to keep it from wobbling.

      The base was done by coating the whole thing in craft glue (Hob-e-tac to be precise, it’s like a thicker, stickier PVA glue). Then I covered it in a mixture of fine and coarse sand. Once that dried, I added some slightly watered down Elmer’s Glue in pools to make some humps, and then added more sand. Once everything dried, I primed it and then painted it green and brown, washed it with the Sepia wash and then drybrushed it with yellow.

      I haven’t fully decided on the marine. I was thinking Ultramarine since that is what one of my friends plays, but I thing that would be too much blue. Now I’m leaning more towards a Salamander. The green will look sufficiently different from the rest without being too bright, and I just love the look of the Salamander colors.


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

