500pt Eldar vs. Ultramarines

Ryan and I got a game in tonight with our 500 point Combat Patrol armies.  We decided to use the Adepticon scenarios for the game.  The exact scenario was to get a scoring unit into the opponent’s deployment zone, while keeping the opponent out of your own.

My army:
3 Jetbikes with Shuriken Cannon
1 Warlock with Destructor

3 Jetbikes with Shuriken Cannon
1 Warlock with Embolden

3 squads of 2 War Walkers each with 2 Shuriken Cannons

Ryan’s army:
2 squads of 10 Tactical Marines with Flamer and Rocket Launcher and Melta-Bombs
5 Devastators with 4 Rocket Launchers

I won the roll to go first and deployed across the board.  The Walkers were deployed with one squad on each side of the table and the third in the center.  The Bikes were deployed behind cover between the Walkers.  Ryan deployed all of his Marines behind a hill on the far left.  This caused most of my army to be completely out of range from my army.  I used my scout move to get my Walkers a bit closer.

On my first turn I moved my Jetbikes flat out to the center of the table, while my Walkers moved closer to the marines.  Only one squad of Walkers was in range for shooting, and manage to kill the Devastator squad’s Leader.  Ryan moved everything except the Devastators closed and took out one of the close Walkers, and took the weapon off the other one.

Turns 2-4 were spent moving closer and slowly whittling down Ryan’s army.  One Walker managed to hold up an entire squad of Marines in assault for 3 turns before finally causing a wound and causing them to fall back.  That squad then regrouped and managed to make it all the way across the board ending up in my deployment zone on turn 5 with 2 Marines left.

At the end, Ryan had two Marines in my deployment zone, while I had a squad of Jetbikes in his.  So the game was a draw.  I should have deployed my Walkers in the center of the table so I could have brought all of their firepower to bear on at the same time, rather than splitting them up.

It was a good game, and I really liked my army, but I learned that I need to be a bit more careful with deployment when I can’t rely on superior range to see me through.

Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

