Space Wolves vs Dark Angels – 2200 points

Last week, my friend Ryan and I got together for some Warhammer 40k.  He was playing his Deathwing Dark Angels and I was playing my new Loganwing Space Wolves.  An overview of the armies is below.

Space Wolves:

  • Logan Grimnar
  • Njal Stormcaller in Runic Terminator Armor
  • Wolf Lord on Thunderwolf with Storm Shield, Thunderhammer and Saga of the Bear
  • Wolf Lord on Thunderwolf with Frost Blade, Belt of Russ and Saga of the Warrior Born
  • 2 Lone Wolves in Terminator armor with Chain Fists and Storm Shields
  • 5 Wolf Guard including 1 Terminator with Cyclone Missile Launcher and Power Fist, 1 Wolf Guard with Combi-Melta, and Arjac Rockfist
  • 5 Wolf Guard including 1 Terminator with Cyclone Missile Launcher and Power Fist, and 1 Wolf Guard with Combi-Melta
  • 10 Grey Hunters with 2 Meltaguns and a Wolf Standard in a Drop Pod
  • 2 Long Fang squads with 4 Missile Launchers and a Squad Leader.  One had a Drop Pod.

Dark Angels:

  • Belial with Lightning Claws, 2 Terminators with Lighting Claws, Terminator with Assault Cannon and Power Fist, Terminator with Thunderhammer and Storm Shield in a Land Raider #3
  • 4 Terminators with Power Fists and 1 Terminator with a Power Weapon in a Land Raider #1
  • 5 Terminators with Lightning Claws in a Land Raider #2
  • Dreadnought with Lascannon and Missile Launcher
  • Dreadnought with Assault Cannon and Close Combat Weapon
  • 3 Land Speeders with Multimelta and Heavy Flamers

We just rolled for mission and deployment.  We ended up with Capture and Control with a Pitched battle deployment.  My objective was behind the center hill, while Ryan’s was behind Land Raider #2.  Ryan won the roll to go first.

Deployment can be seen below.  My two Lone Wolves were setup to rush straight at his Raiders.  The Long Fangs were setup with good line of site to their targets, but lacked cover.  Logan and Njal joined the Wolf Guard squad with Arjac on the hill in the center.  My Long Fang’s Drop Pod would be arriving empty on the first turn.

Deployment

Turn 1:
On Ryan’s turn, Land Raiders 1 and 3 moved forward 6″.  The Land Speeders boosted forward 24″ and prepared to hit the Long Fangs on the left.  I weathered most of the shooting, and only ended up losing a single Wolf Guard from Arjac’s squad.  On my turn I moved everything forward.  I had forgotten to deploy the Drop Pod, so I ended up placing it in the corner where it wouldn’t affect anything.  My shooting destroyed the Lascannon Dread and stunned two of the Land Speeders.

Turn 2:
Land Raiders 1 and 3 advanced again and their Terminators disembarked to assault the Lone Wolves, who managed to survive the shooting phase.  The one mobile Speeder moved around the trees and flamed the Long Fangs, killing the squad leader.  In assault, Belial easily dispatched one Lone Wolf, but the other survived assault with one wound, but failed his leadership and fell back out of combat (which I now realize he shouldn’t have done because he’s fearless).

The one that survived.

On my turn, the Lone Wolf regrouped and headed for Land Raider #1 along with the Wolf Lord with Thunderhammer.  The Long Fangs on the left destroyed the Land Speeder, while the Long Fangs on the right failed to do any damage to Belial’s squad.  Njal tried to have the ground eat Belial, but Jaws of the World Wolf only managed to get one of the Power Fist Terminators.  In assault, the Frost Blade Lord and Logan’s squad destroyed the Power Fist Terminators, and the Lone Wolf and Hammer Lord destroyed the Land Raider.

Turn 3:

Start of turn 3

The Land Raiders shot and killed the remaining Lone Wolf, and the Speeders managed to kill off another Long Fang.  In assault, Belial’s squad charged the Thunderlord, but didn’t do much.  In return the Wolf Lord killed off three of the Terminators.

On my turn, Logan, Arjac and friends joined the brawl.  Logan used his +1 attack ability, and they managed to cut down Belial and company with little trouble.  The Thunderhammer Lord went to smash Land Raider #3, but only stunned it, and the Long Fangs managed to wreck the remaining Speeders.

Turn 3 - Assault phase

 

 

Logan vs. Belial

Turn 4:

We decided to call it after turn 4, because it was getting late and the game was pretty much under my control.  Ryan didn’t have much left.  My Drop Pod full of Grey Hunters finally showed up and landed right on Ryan’s objective to contest.  They tried to wreck the Land Raider, but couldn’t.  Arjac smashed the remaining Dreadnought with his magic hammer, and that was the end of it.  I controlled my objective with a Wolf Guard squad, and Ryan’s objective was contested.  Victory to the Wolves.

Turn 4 - Far objective

Turn 4 - Near objective

Overall it was a fun game.  I know Ryan wasn’t quite prepared, because he had put together the list right before we played and missed a couple things.  He also had the wrong group of Terminators in Land Raider #1, which hurt.  My list definitely performed better than I expected against his list, but I do think that if he had used his Land Raiders more aggressively it would have been a much different game.

Also, I certainly learned that I need to re-read my codex a bit better before the next game.  I was referencing things a lot, and even then I forgot things.  I also played a few things wrong.  I attribute a lot of it to only playing non-Space Marines in the past.  They have a lot of special rules.

1 Response to “Space Wolves vs Dark Angels – 2200 points”



  1. 1 Space Wolves vs. Dark Angels – Rematch « Meandering the Dune Sea Trackback on February 17, 2011 at 12:12 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

