2200 Point Tournament Report

This last weekend I played in a local 2200 point tournament.  There were 5 players for 40k (Dark Angels, Space Wolves, Black Templars, Codex: Space Marines, and Eldar) and 7 for Fantasy (Beastmen, Warriors of Chaos, Beast of Chaos, Skaven, Wood Elves, High Elves, and another that I forget).  I was running my Herohammer Space Wolves list, seen below.

HQ:
Logan Grimnar
Njal Stormcaller – Runic Terminator Armor
Torrand the Bear – Wolf Lord, Thunderwolf, Thunderhammer, Storm Shield, Runic Armor, Wolftooth Necklace, Wolf Tail Talisman, Saga of the Bear
Gunnarr Orcsbane – Wolf Lord, Thunderwolf, Frost Blade, Belt of Russ, Runic Armor, Wolftooth Necklace, Wolf Tail Talisman, Saga of the Warrior Born

Troops:
10 Grey Hunters – 2 Melta Guns, Wolf Standard, Drop Pod
5 Wolf Guard – 1 in Terminator Armor with Power Fist and Cyclone Missile Launcher, 4 in Power Armor with 1 Combi-melta and 1 Melta Bombs
5 Wolf Guard – 1 in Terminator Armor with Power Fist and Cyclone Missile Launcher, 3 in Power Armor with 1 Combi-melta and 1 Melta Bombs, and Arjac Rockfist

Elites:
Einarr Ulfson – Lone Wolf with Terminator Armor, Chainfist and Storm Shield
Vali Homgeirr – Lone Wolf with Terminator Armor, Chainfist and Storm Shield

Heavy Support:
5 Long Fangs with 4 Missile Launchers and Drop Pod
5 Long Fangs with 4 Missile Launchers

First up, here are some pictures of the various armies.  Excuse me is I get the fantasy armies wrong.  I’m not as familiar with them and I didn’t take notes.

High Elves vs. Beasts of Chaos

Warriors of Chaos vs. Wood Elves (I think)

Skaven vs Beastmen

Giant Rat Thing

Another Giant Rat Thing

Space Marine Bikers vs. Dark Angels

Now for my games.  I will just be doing highlights rather than full reports.

My first game was against JJ’s Black Templar.  I knew this would be a tough game, since both of our armies are strong in assault and JJ is a good player.  I just didn’t realize that I would be fighting Lady Luck as well.  JJ’s army consisted of 3 Land Raiders; 1 full of Terminators, 1 with the Emperor’s Champion and a full Marine squad, and 1 with 5 Marines.  He also had 2 Rhinos with 5 Marines, each with a Lascannon and Plasmagun, and a drop pod with a Dreadnought.

The mission was 5 objectives with Pitched Battle deployment.  I won the roll to go first, took it, but then JJ stole the initiative.  Things went downhill from there.  On the first turn Logan and his squad took a lot of fire, and ended up taking wounds on Njal, Logan, Arjac and losing a standard Marine.  All of that was to Bolter fire.  None of the Lascannons did anything, but a puny bolter did all the damage.  Then on the second turn, Torrand destroyed the Terminator’s Land Raider, but that was about it.  Logan, Njal and Arjac all died to the Emperor’s Champion and his squad.  Gunnarr tried to help, but whiffed at the Champion and died to the return attacks.  The final nail was when my Grey Hunters dropped onto an objective, killed 4 of the 5 Templars holding it, but then got shot up by a Plasma Gun the next turn and ran from the one remaining Templar.  At the end, JJ held 4 objectives and I was wiped off the board.  Loss with 0 points for me.

I wasn’t shooty enough to deal with the Templars.  Their Preferred Enemy rule along with Furious Charge really negated a lot of the strengths of the Wolves.  I did a lot of damage, but forgetting some of the particulars of the Templars, plus getting unlucky really did me in.  JJ played well, and deserved the win.

Game 1 - Deployment

Game 1 - Turn 2

Incoming Dreadnought

Torrand's Assault of the Terminators

Game 1 - Turn 3

Game 1 - Turn 4

End of Game 1

After the first round, Ryan (Dark Angels) dropped out so that we wouldn’t have to deal with a bye.  He had lost his first round and had some other obligations that weekend.

My second game was against Robert’s Eldar.  Robert is fairly new to the game and his Eldar had 2 Wraithlords, Wraithguard in a Wave Serpent, Fire Dragons in a Wave Serpent, Swooping Hawks, Dire Avengers, Dark Reapers, 2 squads of Rangers, Harlequins and a Farseer.  The mission was a goofy one where we needed to rescue/capture a colonist from the center of the board and bring him back to our deployment zone.  My plan was to drop my Grey Hunters right next to the colonist, and then Run on the first turn.  This plan was foiled, though, when I learned that once you grabbed the colonist you couldn’t move any further until the next turn.  This meant that my Grey Hunters were exposed, and they were shot to pieces by the Eldar.  We only managed to make it to turn 3, and neither of us managed to get the colonist.  I was able to get 2 bonus points, though, by killing his Harlequins (most expensive unit).  One of my Lone Wolves battled the Harlequins and the Swooping Hawks for three assault phases before my Wolf Guard could come and clean up.  The game ended in a draw, gaining me 11 points.

Game 2 - Space Wolf Deployment

Game 2 - Eldar Deployment

Game 2 - Turn 1

Game 2 - Turn 2

At this point, JJ and Patrick had drawn Game 2 as well, so first place wasn’t out of reach for anyone.

My final game was against Patrick and his biker marines.  He had two Biker Captains with command squads, three 9-man biker squads, and three squads of two Land Speeders with Missile Launchers.  The mission was Annihilation with Dawn of War.  Patrick won the roll and game me first turn.  I deployed Njal with Arjac’s squad in the center of the table, and the other Wolf Guard squad back in some trees.  Patrick, of course deployed nothing.  This game turned out to be exactly the opposite of game 1.  I was actually making armor saves like crazy.  My Missile Launchers did well against the Speeders, and my Wolf Lords tore up the bikes in assault.  Torrand hit one bike squad, killed a few and then chased them off the table when they ran.  Gunnarr hit another bike squad, slaughtered all of them and then proceeded to kill one of the command squads, tallying at least 15 kills that game.  Arjac and Njal took on the other command squad and battled them for a few round before send them on their way.  The only disappointment was that the Lone Wolves couldn’t have a valiant death.  One took on an entire Bike Squad alone, but weathered the storm and came out alive after being joined by Torrand, Arjac and the other Lone Wolf.  In the end, the bikers were destroyed and I was able to get 19 points for the game (would have been 20 if either of my Lone Wolves had died).

Game 3 - Turn 1

Game 3 - Turn 2

Turn 3 - Gunnarr vs. Bikers

Arjac vs. Captain

Gunnarr vs. Captain

Lone Wolf vs. Bikers

At the end of the day after adding in sportsmanship scores, first place went to JJ, I took second, and Patrick took third.  The top three were very close with only a couple points separating all of us.

Overall it was a fun tournament.  I learned, as I expected to, that my army can be quite finicky.  It is strong against a more shooty army, but against an assault army it can struggle if I’m not careful.

1 Response to “2200 Point Tournament Report”


  1. 1 ToI March 9, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Got BRep Andy, I’m glad that I got the opportunity to play against a puppies army that ran me round a bit. I look forward to playing against you again at somepoint. Cheers

    ToI/Pat


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

