Weekend Gaming: Post Labor Day

Image from Board Game Geek

It was Labor Day yesterday, and my family and I spent the evening over at Phil and Dana’s house with our friends.  We had a great barbecue and a wonderful time.  There were burgers, brats, homemade potato salad, S’mores, and beer.  It was great.  Surprisingly, the only game we played was a rousing game of Hide’n’Seek with my son and I doing the seeking.  We ended up finding everyone, but Louis definitely hid the best.

Most of the rest of the weekend was spent visiting my parents.  We also managed to visit Nick and Laura on Saturday night.  We got a couple games in with them, including a game of Zombie Dice, which I had picked up last weekend.  Zombie Dice is a silly little game where you try to roll Brains on the dice, and not Shotgun blasts.  You can keep rolling until you decide to stop or you get shotgunned three times.  If you get three shots, though, you lose any points you’ve accumulated that round.  Once someone gets to 13 Brains, each other player gets another shot and then the game is over and the player with the most Brains wins.

In our game, I managed to get off to a quick start and made it to 12 on the first two rounds, but then stalled out.  I could have quit a few times with 13 or 15, but I got greedy and ended up busting.  Nick managed to slowly catch up, and got to 12 as well.  That’s when I decided to end the game.  I had managed to get to 14 and then called it.  Laura went next, and though she started the round with only 7 Brains, she hit a lucky streak and added 9 more for a total of 16.  Nick and my wife both got shotgunned, so Laura ended up going from last to first to win.

The other games we played were 7 Wonders and Nightfall: Martial Law.  Nothing much outstanding about either of the games, and we were all getting pretty tired by the end.

Until next time, happy gaming!

3 Responses to “Weekend Gaming: Post Labor Day”


  1. 1 ianthecool September 10, 2011 at 12:19 pm

    Hmm, the Zombie Dice doesn’t seem like there’s much to it. How did the 7 Wonders game go? Did you play with Leaders?

  2. 2 Rkik September 11, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Zombie dice is very simple. It’s got a decent theme, though, which makes it worth it, and it’s a great filler game.

    I have not played with Leaders yet. A friend just picked up his own copy of 7 Wonders and Leaders, so I’m sure I’ll get a chance soon.


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

