First Necron!

I picked up some Necrons recently, so today I decided to try the paint scheme I’ve been thinking of. I’m going for kind of an ancient Egyptian theme with them, while staying away from the standard all silver robots.

I like the general look of the theme, and I think it will look great on the tabletop.  I’m not very happy with how streaky the bone color looks.  I’m not sure if that’s because of old paint or just not enough water.  The highlights also look a lot brighter in the pictures than they do on the actual model, but they could be blended in a bit more.  Finally, I’m not sure of the look of the gun.  I think it needs a bit more variation on the gun itself, and the gun barrel effect is just a placeholder until I can think of something better.

3 Responses to “First Necron!”


  1. 1 Flekkzo January 23, 2012 at 2:03 am

    First things first. It needs evil beady eyes. Something red perhaps?

    Don’t loose the gun effect. First I though “those lightning effects should be thinner”, but then I realized that I really liked the effect. I simply stopped thinking of it as lightning and started to think of it as plasma. Looking good!

    The whole scheme looks really nice. The big test will be the new transports. They will make it or break it for sure. So looking forward to that:)

    • 2 Rkik January 23, 2012 at 8:24 am

      Thanks. Yeah, the more I look at the gun, the more I like it.

      “The big test will be the new transports. They will make it or break it for sure. So looking forward to that:)”

      This is definitely true, and it’s making me doubt my decision to go with this scheme. I have a Ghost Ark that I’ve just started to paint, and it’s proving to be extremely annoying to try and get a clean coat of Bleached Bone on those large surfaces. I’m going to stick with it, though.

  2. 3 docbungle February 10, 2012 at 1:54 am

    Awesome work.

    Your Blogging Bonanza post is now on my blog 😀

    Dont forget to join the Shellcase Alliance http://theshellcase.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=honourroll&action=display&thread=42


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

