Paris as a Geek

After spending the last two days working, I had a free day today, so I went out touring.  I bought a Visite pass for the metro system, which allowed me unlimited use for the day.

My first stop was the Arc de’ Triomphe.  This was partly to see the Arc (which is beautiful), but also because there is a Quick restaurant just down the street.  Quick happens to be running a Star Wars promotion with special burgers.  I wanted the black Darth Vader burger, but it wasn’t on the menu, so I had the Dark Jedi burger, which was basically a double cheesburger with spicy mayo and a red bun.  It was pretty tasty.

I then walked along the Avenue des Champs Elysees, which is basically the Boardwalk of Paris.  There were fancy stores all along and tourists all over the place.  I stopped into the Mercedes Benz showroom where they had some beautiful cars on display.  Speaking of cars, there was a guy offering two cars for short term rental drives.  One was a Ferrari and the other was a Lamborgini.  They were beautiful.

After walking a while, I hopped back aboard the metro and headed to Notre Dame.  I hadn’t seen Notre Dame the last time I was in Paris, so I made sure to visit.  It is just as beautiful as you’d expect and just enormous.  A very wonderful place.

Then it was on to the “real” purpose for visiting the area around Notre Dame.  Just a few blocks south of the Seine is an area with all kinds of shops, some are fairly “touristy” but if you go just a few blocks you get to the lesser visited areas.  There, within an area of about 3 miles, I found three different game stores, a Games Workshop, two comic book/toy stores, and a chocolatier.  The three game stores (Starplayer, Descartes and Variantes) I had looked up the night before so I knew how to get to them, but the others were just lucky finds.

The three stores were very nice and there were a bunch o people playing Warhammer at both Starplayer and Games Workshop, so I watched their games for a bit.  I had been looking for the game Vinhos, as it hasn’t been released in the US, but none of the stores carried it.  It turned out pretty well, though.  Variantes was the last store I visited and they happened to have a copy of Eclipse.  It’s been getting good reviews, but it’s completely sold out all over the US.  I was pretty happy about that find, but now I need to creatively pack it so I can fit in my bags to bring it home 😛

I finished off the day at an Irish pub with some nice Irish beer.

I did take a bunch of pictures, but I have no way to get them off my camera until I get home, so you’ll just have to wait.

Until next time, happy gaming!

3 Responses to “Paris as a Geek”


  1. 1 Dragons Claw February 22, 2012 at 1:24 pm

    You went to paris had burgers then went to an irish pub.

    You have really missed the point of paris! Wander around the latin quarter (north side of the seine around Notre Damme) and find a nice cafe have your food there then watch it turn into a bar as soon as the sun goes down stay drinking till they kick you out usually about 4am. Check out the luxembourg gardens and see if you can pick up a game of chess get the train out to versaile see the palace and have a snooze in the gardens.

    seriously the best part of paris is the food just stay away from the touristy bits and always order the plate de jour

    sorry if this sounded like a rant but its a city i love and i’d hate to see you miss it

    • 2 Rkik February 22, 2012 at 1:51 pm

      Hehe, no worries, thanks for the tips. I’ll have to check out the latin quarter, but I won’t be staying out until 4am. It would be tough/very expensive to get back to my hotel at that point.

      I have been in Paris once before, and honestly French food is just not my favorite. I’m much more fond of German or Irish cuisine (at least for European fare). I have not been to Versaile, so I’ll try and get their tomorrow.

  2. 3 Grandma Becky February 24, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    Can’t wait to see your photos. I am so proud of you getting around on your own ingenuity !! Thanks for the long description of your day. I wish that I could have trailed along besode you
    . You know how I love Paris.
    Gdma Becky


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

