Weekend Gaming: Game-a-palooza!

This weekend I was celebrating my 30th birthday, so we took the kids to grandma and grandpa’s house and spent the weekend playing games.

Friday started things off with Gina and I playing Agricola and Ticket to Ride: Europe.  Then, on Saturday, we went to see The Avengers with friends.  It was an incredibly awesome movie, and definitely the highlight of the weekend.

After the movie, I grilled some burgers and the I broke out Eclipse.  I taught Ryan, Kevin and Louis how to play while Joe watched on for the explanation.  I had a tough time expanding early, due to a lack of money making planets.  Ryan was walled off in his own sector, while Kevin and Louis were working towards each other in the outer sectors.  I ended up spending my time upgrading and building my Cruisers and Interceptors, then went for the Galactic Center.  I took it out relatively easily, and that opened things up to Kevin’s space.  At that point, Kevin and Louis had a diplomatic agreement and Louis was moving towards Ryan.  On the last few turns, I invaded Kevin’s area until he was able to put Anitmatter Cannons on his Starbases and took out my Cruisers.  But it was too late at that point and I ended up winning with 40 points.  Louis was second with about 30.

While that was going on, Joe, Jaime and Gina played some Agricola and Carcassonne: Hunters and Gatherers.  After that was finished up, Ryan, Kevin, Joe and I played some Hansa Teutonica.  I was able to get to 5 actions and full bag upgrade fairly early, and then I was able to spend the rest of the game building offices and picking up bonus points.  Ryan was trying to accelerate the game, but wasn’t quite successful.  I managed to create a chain of 11 offices with a multiplier of two, and finished the game with a whopping 84 points.

On Sunday, Gina and I played a game of Agricola in the afternoon.  I completely forgot to feed my family one turn and ended up with three Beggar cards for -9 points.  I was trying to plow and bake bread, but I just wasn’t able to get things rolling.  Later that evening, Joe and Ryan joined us for another game of Agricola.  In this one, I was again trying to plow and grow vegetables, while using the Day Laborers and Traveling Players to supply Stone and Veggies due to some Improvements.  That plan worked out fairly well, but I didn’t have a strong way to gain bonus points, so I finished the game in third place, while Joe added 20+ points in bonuses and cards and finished with nearly 50 points.

It was a crazy weekend with a lot of games and a lot of fun.  Until next time, happy gaming.

1 Response to “Weekend Gaming: Game-a-palooza!”


  1. 1 Georgia May 7, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    Sounds great! Happy 30th!


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

