Weekend Gaming: New Games!

For Father’s day, my lovely wife was kind enough to order me Castles of Burgundy, Hawaii, Navegador and Agricola.  They all arrived on Wednesday, and we tried Castles of Burgundy first with Joe and Ryan.  Not much to say about the game yet, but it was fun.  It took a bit longer to learn than expected, but once we got into the game, things flowed pretty smoothly.

Then Saturday afternoon, my wife and I sat down to learn Navegador.  Navegador has a unique action mechanic where the players travel around a circular rondel that has eight actions.  Each turn, the player’s token must move clockwise around the rondel and can take any of the next three actions for free, and if they wanted to move further, they need to pay.  It makes planning future turns interesting.

The game itself was pretty fun.  Lots of things going on between the market interactions and the exploration of new colonies.  I ended up investing heavily into sugar and spice colonies, with bonus points for the number of colonies I had.  Gina was using factories to process sugar, so we managed to keep the prices of sugar fluctuating so we would bot maximize our profit.  I had also explored a bunch, so that netted me a bunch of end game points.  Gina was able to get quite a bit from her factories, but my exploration and colonies were enough to push me into the lead.

That evening, Ryan, Brian, Louis, Joe and Kevin joined us for games.  It was Brian’s first time playing many of the games, so we started off with two games of 7 Wonders.  In both games I invested heavily into Science.  In the first one, I did well, but I was just short of being able to play the Science Guild, which would have been a significant improvement.  As it was, I ended up one point shy of Joe in the final tally.  In the second game, I was playing Halicarnassus and I was able to search the discards for two additional science cards.  I also received the Science Guild in my Age 3 hand again, and this time I was able to play it.  With that, I was able to get three of each science for 48 points just from science.  That wasn’t enough, though, as I only had seven other points.  Gina managed to trounce us all, as Joe and I hadn’t built any military, so she was able to get 18 military points from a single card.  She managed to score a whopping 67 points.

We then split into two groups and managed to play two games  at the same table.  Kevin, Brian and I played Dominion while the others played Eminent Domain.  Kevin managed to win both games of Dominion, though in the second game with the Big Money set I had a very efficient deck using Chapels, Labs and an Adventurer to pick up nearly a Province a turn once I got it rolling.  Sadly I had one dead turn, and ended up a Province behind Kevin at the end.

We regrouped for Shadows over Camelot after that.  Brian and I ended up as the traitors, and both of us were playing too subtly.  Most of them managed to bum rush the Grail quest and actually complete it, while Joe and Kevin fought the Picts twice for wins.  There were 5 white swords on the table before a single black sword was seen.  My only hope was that they had been putting a bunch of Catapults early to try and accuse people before there were any white swords.

We managed to get within two catapults, but it wasn’t to be.  After winning the Excaliber quest, I took a bunch of the Fight Cards to “fight” the catapults, but then left Camelot basically revealing myself.  Joe accused me, correctly, and that pretty much ended the game.  On Brian’s turn, the last black sword was added to the table, and it was a 8-4, but since Brian was a traitor, two white swords flipped to make it a 6-6 tie.  Ryan had played a white card earlier, though, that allowed the Knights to win a tie, so the good guys ended up winning.

Keeping with that theme, we finished the night off with a rousing game of Monty Python Fluxx, which was won by Kevin scoring the Cheeseshop Goal.

On Sunday, Joe and Ryan joined me to learn Hawaii.  Joe was had two large villages with lots of fruit in one and hula girls in both.  Ryan was scoring a bunch of points during the game with fishing huts and ended the game with two moderate villages with Kahunas.  I focused on Kahunas and Tikis after getting some boats to get islands and the god that allowed me to move anywhere for one foot.  I was able to maximize my Kahunas and Tikis to score all of my villages for a whopping 63 points in the end game scoring.  This launched me into first place for the win.

The game was a lot of fun, and played very quickly.  It only lasts five rounds, so there is a push to get a lot done in a short period of time.  We were just getting things figured out when the last turn rolled around.  I am definitely looking forward to playing this one again.

Until next time, happy gaming!

1 Response to “Weekend Gaming: New Games!”



Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

