Weekend Gaming: Small Group Time!

On Saturday night, Gina was out with some girlfriends, so Ryan, Kevin and Louis joined me for some games.  We started the night with Kingdom Builder.  The goals were to build a large group of settlements, build next to water tiles, and to connect the special locations on the board.  I started the game, and immediately moved to get a Boat special ability.  On my next turn, I was able to get one of the two stonehenge abilities.  That really set the tone for the game.  While the others were playing in the corners, I had a pretty good grip on the center of the board.  I was able to use my boat to cross a few rivers and link a bunch of the special location together, while keeping all but a few of my settlements out of my main cluster.  I was pushing to get another castle into my kingdom, but came up just short, when my last card was an unhelpful desert and Ryan ended the game after my play.  I ended up with enough for the win anyways.

Next up, we played Ad Astra, a new game that Ryan picked up a couple weeks ago.  The game plays a bit like a combination of Race for the Galaxy and Settlers of Catan.  Each player controls a race of humanoids that are trying to explore and settle the galaxy.  The players have a hand of roles, and each round is spent placing those roles on a track of actions.  Then the roles are revealed one at a time and each player gets to use the role, while the owner of the role gets some bonus.  So there’s an element of planning what to do on each turn while trying to guess what your opponents are going to do to maximize your own choices.

I started the game with a factory on a water planet, which was halfway to being able to build terraformers (each one built is worth 4 points).  The first planet I explored to had the food needed for the other half of the terraformers.  So while the others were flying around exploring, I was pretty much limited to a single system due to lack of starships and energy.  Louis did save me a couple of times by trading my energy to be able to move around.  I built a terraformer and a factory on the food planet, and then another terraformer a bit later.  After scoring a bunch of points with those, I made a move to a new star system.  The rest of them caught up to me a bit, Louis by exploring a bunch, and Ryan with starhips and factories, but I was able to force the game to end by building two terraformers and then scoring them for a 23 point turn pushing me over the 50 point limit for the win.

So a smaller group, which was nice to get a couple newer games played.  Until next time, happy gaming!

 

Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

