Weekend Gaming: Labor Day and Games!

Long weekend here, and we spent a bunch of it playing games.

Friday night, Gina and I played Castles of Burgundy, followed by a game of Agricola that I forgot to photograph.

On Saturday, Joe and Jaime joined us for some Kingdom Builder.  The first game was quite close with me edging Jaime out by a couple points.  The second game wasn’t nearly as strong for me and Joe went on to win with a bunch of Worker points.

After they took off, Gina and I played another game of Castles of Burgundy.

Then on Sunday, Joe and Jaime joined us in the afternoon and brought over Tikal.  Joe had just picked it up a few weeks ago, so it was new to most of us.  I started off weakly, but did manage to get into some nice treasure sets.  As the game went on, I was was able to sneak into a couple decent monuments and in the end, I snuck past Jaime again for the win.

After dinner, we snuck in a quick game of Kingdom Builder before John and Dana showed up.  I completely forgot that Lords awarded second place as well, and Joe capitalized on them for the win.

Next up was Hawaii with Dana, John, Jaime, Gina and I.  Dana was focused mostly on boats, while Gina was hitting the Spear Huts hard.  Jaime and I both were going for fruit, and John was trying for Kahunas.  I ended up maxing my Kahunas and getting enough Tikis to score all of my villages but it wasn’t enough to clear 100.  Dana managed to score a bunch of end game points, which was enough to get ahead of Gina to win.

The last game of the weekend was Agricola with Joe, Jaime, Gina and I.  I was originally trying for sheep early and then progressing into Major Improvements and grain, but it never happened.  Joe bought up the Major Improvements early while monopolizing the Occupation spots using the Bookcase and Professional Scholar to feed his family.  Gina snatched up all of the Sheep and Jaime and I were fighting over wood and reed.

I was able to get a single room and kid early, and then had pretty much unhindered access to the Family Growth without Room action to fill out my family.  Joe had played the Constable, and I was able to capitalize for an extra couple points.  The biggest bonus, though was just getting a large family, allowing me to finish a bit more comfortably with a nice 44 point win.

Until next time, happy gaming!

Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

