Weekend Gaming: Birthday Party!

Nick and Laura were in town visiting for my daughter’s third birthday over the weekend.  On Saturday, they, Kevin and us played some Princes of Florence.  We were slightly distracted with chatting, while Laura and Nick hadn’t played in a while, so Kevin was getting away with some cheap auctions (primarily Jesters) because we weren’t keeping him honest.  I was able to get things going a bit as the game went on, and only needed a Forest and eventually a Lake for landscapes to play my Works.  I was forced to buy an unplayable recruitment card on the last turn in order to make the minimum score, but even using my last 6 actions to score Works, it wasn’t enough.  Kevin’s Jesters put his works over the top of mine, and he was able to finish with a bunch as well.  He ended up beating me by 5 points, while the rest struggled to reach 50.

By then, Joe, Jaime and Ryan had shown up.  Ryan, Joe and Nick just wanted to socialize, so the rest of us played Ticket to Ride: Europe.  I had a grand plan that involved travelling from Cadiz to Stockholm by way of Athens, but it wasn’t to be.  I was collecting a bunch of cards to be able to do play a bunch of routes in succession, and I wasn’t really getting everything I needed for the key routes.  By the time I was able to get what I needed, someone else *cough*Laura*cough* had taken the route.  Even the 8-long tunnel route in the North was taken by Kevin the turn before I could take it.  I was able to finish my starting routes with the help of some stations, but when I went to grab more routes to bolster my score I was doomed.  Laura cut me off from the one route I was able to complete, and my last action gamble only had incomplete routes.  I ended up with a whopping 10 points from routes.  Kevin won that one rather handily as well.

Kevin (Black), Jaime (Red), Laura (Yellow), Gina (Green), Me (Blue)

Until next time, happy gaming!

 

Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

