Weekend Gaming: Eclipse

Saturday night Gina was busy, so I invited Kevin, Phil and Ryan to play Eclipse.  After a quick-ish rules refresher, we got to playing.  I was playing as the exploratory Planta, Ryan was the building/upgrading expert Machenima, Kevin had the warlike Orion Hegemony and Phil was playing the well rounded Terrans.

The game started slowly with all of us just exploring outward.  I snagged a couple with no ancients and decent resources, while Kevin had Ancients all over due to being the only one to to take a level 2 hex.  Phil was getting a bunch of money planets, so he had a pretty early lead in the number of actions available.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Kevin was blocked on almost all sides by Ancients and lost his first battle with them pretty badly.  He was able to recover, though and started expanding.  Phil and he finally met and engaged in diplomatic relations.  Ryan was research various weapon tech and upgrading his ships.  He then moved toward the galactic center and wiped it out with only a single casualty.

During all of this, my Planta were happily doing scientific research.  I was able to get into Orbitals relatively early and started building them all over to help my economy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

During the last two turns, Kevin was still dealing with a few ancients, and had an opening into Ryan’s area of space, but decided to negotiate peace instead.  Ryan, meanwhile, had reached the edge of Phil’s space and was preparing to attack.  I was still disconnected from all of them due to my strategic use of my wormhole generator to explore into the center.  I had also managed to research Monoliths, so I built a few of them of the last turns.

The game ended with Ryan defeating Phil in two hexes, removing him completely from one.  He was unable to destroy the population in the other and didn’t have enough influence to be able to claim either of the locations.  After tallying up the scores, I was sitting in first place with 33, Ryan had 31, Kevin 29 and Phil 27.  A very close game that came down to the very last turn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

By this time, Gina had returned home, and Ryan had to take off, so Phil, Kevin, Gina and I played a quick game of Glen More.  I managed to box my villager in, so I had to look online to find out what to do.  That cost me a wasted turn, but I was able to recover a little.

I had been focusing on wheat to distill into whiskey, but with that lost turn I missed the opportunity to get a tavern.  Gina had a fair and a bunch of special tiles, while Phil had a bunch of villages.  Kevin had snatched up a ton of yellow tiles, and the bonus tile for them. He also was making good use of a couple taverns and fairs.  Kevin ended up taking first place, with Phil close behind.  Gina and I were a distant third and fourth.

Until next time, happy gaming!

Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network

