Weekend Gaming: Family Time

My brother-in-law was in town visiting this weekend, and he joined us for some gaming.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe started things off Friday night with a game of Village.  DJ spent his time trying various things, but mostly traveling and the church.  Gina headed into the Council House and put that effort towards the Market.  I was also working toward the market, but through time and production.  I was able to get 4 of my family members into the book, and while Gina was able to snag a few of the market points, I had the bigger ones.  That combined with the few points I was able to get from the church were enough to take the win.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

After that, I taught Keyflower to both of them.  Having played before was a definite advantage.  I was able to score the carts that were available and monopolize them.  With this, I was able to upgrade nearly all of my tiles.  DJ and Gina were doing alright, but didn’t really have a strong goal.  Plus without the ability to easily move stuff they were generally stuck.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally, Saturday night, Kevin joined us and brought Merchants and Marauders.  Gina, DJ and I started off with the pirate geared Sloop for a ship, while Kevin took the merchant favored Flute.  I went straight to work raiding merchants and quickly had English and Dutch bounties.  Gina worked for a bit with her captain, but wasn’t having much luck, so she retired for a new captain.  Kevin saw how many goods could be acquired through a merchant raid, and quickly decided to forego his peaceful ways.  I was doing well with missions and rumors, and managed to defeat the English Navy frigate once I had upgraded to a frigate myself.  I hadn’t noticed, though, that Kevin had stashed a bunch of cash from his sales.  He scored the fifth point he needed, and then revealed that he had 50+ gold stashed for the last 5 points and the win.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Definitely a fun game.  Looking forward to another one.

Until next time, happy gaming!

1 Response to “Weekend Gaming: Family Time”


  1. 1 Isabel June 29, 2013 at 4:41 pm

    Nice. We just got a copy of Village. 🙂


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network