The Wonders of Simple Green

It’s been crazy hot here lately (like most places in the US), but last week there was one day where it seemed cool and dry enough to prime a bunch of the Marines that I had assembled.  Sadly my garage was a too humid and they all turned out a bit “fuzzy”.  As you can see in the first two pics, they were pretty rough.  So off to the local True Value for some Simple Green.  I had heard a ton of great things about it online, and I figured I’d give it a try.

Space Marine Before Simple Green

Terminator Before Simple Green

Here are the first two test models going into the bath of Simple Green.  I wanted to make sure they would not melt or break apart before I tossed the whole batch of guys in.

Into the bath

They sat in there for about an hour before I checked on them.  Nothing bad had happened, so I dumped the rest of them in.  After letting them sit for about a day, I pulled them out.  Here is one sitting in the bath after a day.

Coming out of the bath

Here is the same one, straight out of the bath.

Right out of the bath

I ran it under the tap and most of the paint came right off.

After a shower

Then I scrubbed it with a toothbrush, and all the rest of the paint came right off.

After a scrub

And here are the original two pictured above.

Terminator all clean

Space Marine all clean

The Simple Green worked flawlessly.  None of the joints, plastic or resin was affected at all.  Nothing was damaged, not even the two that I accidentally dropped in the sink.  There was even some old layers of primer on some of the parts that came right off with a scrub.  The models are all ready for a new coat of paint once it cools down enough.  I would definitely recommend it to anyone who needs to strip the paint off plastic models.

3 Responses to “The Wonders of Simple Green”


  1. 1 Foo July 27, 2011 at 9:06 am

    Very cool. I wonder if it works on the new resin.

  2. 3 hotpanda July 27, 2011 at 9:59 am

    a truly great product that has saved many hobbyist from tears of regret.


Comments are currently closed.



Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network