Weekend Gaming: Brass and Panamax

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Nick and his family were again in town and Joe joined Nick and I for a game of Brass on Saturday afternoon.  I was building Cotton Mills early and often, trying to get my income up.  I managed to ship first to the external markets in both phases, significantly increasing my income.  My problem was that’s all I was doing.  Joe positioned himself to build a ton of tracks in the rail phase, while also building two boats.  Nick wasn’t building many tracks, but he did have quite a few different buildings in play.  During the final scoring, Joe scored 60+ points from his links and we thought he had the game locked up.  Nick had 101 points from his building, though, and beat Joe by two points.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Later that evening Kevin, Joe, Nick, and I learned Panamax.  It took a bit to get rolling and the game ended up taking a bit longer than expected.  I was relying too much on my own boats to get stuff done, and wasn’t really able to get much going.  Joe’s company was doing very well, and his stocks sold out quickly.  Kevin’s grew quickly later on and his shares were also quickly bought up.  At one point I was forced to take two bailouts because I had too many shipments on the board to be able to pay for them all.  That all but doomed me in the end.  I was able to get a bunch of European tokens to benefit from my bonus card, but it wasn’t nearly enough.  Kevin had a strong company and a couple strong bonus cards that propelled him to the victory,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Until next time, happy gaming!


Pages

Last Three Plays:

Archives

House of Paincakes Blog Network
N== Blog Network
The 40k n00b - Warhammer 40k Blog Network